O'Neill confirmed as Uachtaráin-Tofa

Liam O’Neill’s election as Uachtaráin-Tofa Chumann Lúthchleas Gael was officially confirmed on the opening night of GAA Congress 2011 in Mullingar.
Laois native O’Neill was the only remaining candidate to succeed current Uachtarán Christy Cooney in 2012.

Tom Daly, Con Hogan and Sheamus Howlin had all been in the contest but opted not to contest the election.

Mr. O’Neill will spend a year as Uachtarán-tofa before taking over the presidency from Mr. Cooney on a three-year term in April 2012.

Click here to read Liam O'Neill's speech on the opening night of Congress 2011.