Major shock as Kerry loses a ten point lead to Tipp so are out of this years Championship.

Munster Minor Football semi final Tipperary 2-12 Kerry 3-8 
By Murt Murphy for 
Kerry made their exit from this year's Minor Championship when they left a ten point half time lead slip as Tipperary fought back in the second half to fashion a famous win in this Munster Minor Championship semi final, played at Semple Stadium Thurles on Wednesday night.

While it was always going to be a difficult assignment for Kerry, few in the county believed that Pat O'Driscoll's side would lose but Tipperary's recent record at the Kingdom at underage level, seemed to inspire them to a second half performance that once again produced a winner six minutes into injury time when Kerry at least deserved a crack at extra time.

The loss means that for the first time since the backdoor system was introduced at minor level, Kerry will not be playing in the Munster Final and they are now out of the Championship, because it was a night when the winner took all.
It all looked so easy for Kerry in the opening half but they never really performed in the second or maybe were not allowed by a resurgent Tipperary side.
Kerry had the stiff wind to their backs in the opening half and was quickly into their stride, thanks to the midfield dominance of team captain Gary O'Leary and Shaun Keane. Tipperary opened the scoring when Fahy took advantage of a defensive error to score a fine point in the opening minute but Kerry were soon into their stride Jeff O'Donoghue levelling in the 4th minute from a free before Jamie Moriarty pointed Kerry in front a minute later.
Then came a crazy ten minutes when Tipperary leaked three goals, two of which were down to keeper error as Kerry raced 3-4 to 0-2 in front by the end of the opening quarter.

The opening goal came in the 6th minute when a high centre from Gary O'Leary was dropped by the keeper and the entire ball rolled down his body, though it may well go down as an OG, Gary O'Leary gets the credit.
Greg Henry then got a point back for the home side but in the 9th minute Kerry struck for their second goal when was afforded too much space as he waltzed through the Tipp defence to blast the ball to the net.

Points followed for a rampant Kerry side from Kevin McCarthy and Ciaran Keating before Kerry were gifted a third goal in the 14th minute, when a ball over the top found Ciaran Keating, who planted the ball in the Tipp net and suddenly Kerry were 3-4 to 0-2 in front and cruising.
Tipperary did improve in the second quarter with points from Quinlivan and Fahy ( 2 frees) while Kerry only managed to add two more points from Jeff O'Donoghue ( free) and Kevin McCarthy was enough to see Kerry lead 3-6 to 0-5 at the interval.

Kerry suffered a body blow just before half time when Jeff O'Donoghue limped out of the action and he was replaced by Niall Sheehy who had a fine second half.
Tipperary had the wind in the second half but a scrappy opening ten minutes produced not a single score.
Then in the 42nd minute of the game came the score that changed the course of this amazing game when Michael Quinlivan got inside Tadhg Morley who finished to the Kerry net.

This goal seemed to ignite Tipperary and Kerry played as if they were shell shocked and the visitors simply could not buy a score.
A succession of points from Fahy, TJ Ryan, Philly Quirke, Liam McGrath and Ian Fahy as Tipperary closed the gap.
Kerry finally scored a point in the 57th minute when Sean McCarthy fielded a great ball and pointed to give Kerry a three point cushion entering the final minutes.
Then in the 59th minute Tipperary levelled the contest with a Coleman Kennedy goal and a minute later to the delight of the home supporters in a crowd of 1036, Michael Quinlivan gave them the lead for their time since the opening minute.

Kerry then had five minutes of injury time to force extra time and in the 65th minute Ciaran Keating came to his sides rescue with a sublime equalizer and thoughts turned to extra time or so we thought.
However in the next minute and half of additional extra time, Tipperary stunned Kerry when Liam McGrath scored the winner and while Tipperary celebrated a famous win, Kerry were left to wonder how things had gone so badly wrong in the second half.

Scorers: Tipperary: Ian Fahey 0-4, 2 frees, 1 45; Michael Quinlivan 1-1; Colman Kennedy 1-1, 0-1 free; Liam McGrath 0-2; Greg Henry, Steven O'Brien, Philip Quirke, T.J. Ryan 0-1 each.

Kerry: Ciaran Keating 1-2; Jamie Moriarty 1-1; Gary O'Leary 1-0; Kevin McCarthy 0-2; Jeff O'Donoghue 0-2 frees; Sean McCarthy 0-1.

Tipperary: Gearoid Slattery; Seamus Kennedy, Conor O'Sullivan, Niall O'Sullivan; Adrian McGuire, Dylan Fitzell, Bill Maher; Steven O'Brien, Daragh Butler; Dean Lonergan, Greg Henry, Ian Fahey; Liam McGrath, Michael Quinlivan, T.J. Ryan.
SUBS: Philip Quirke for Butler (18); Colin O'Riordan for McGuire (ht); Colman Kennedy for Lonergan (ht); Jason Lonergan for Henry (58).

Kerry: Shane Murphy; Padraig O'Se, Tadhg Morley, Cillian Fitzgerald; Michael O'Connor, Ronan Murphy, Kieran Murphy; Gary O'Leary, Shaun Keane; Jeff O'Donoghue, Padraig Boyle, Ian McCarthy; Jamie Moriarty, Ciaran Keating, Kevin McCarthy.
SUBS: Niall Sheehy for O'Donoghue (30 inj); Sean McCarthy for I McCarthy (40);


Referee: James Birmingham ( Cork)

Last Updated (Wednesday, 18 May 2011 23:29)