Kerry destroy Tipperary with second half blitz

Munster Junior Football - quarterfinal-Kerry 2-16 Tipperary 1-8 
By Murt Murphy for

A tremendous second half performance by a superior Kerry side blitzed Tipperary in this Munster Junior Football Championship quarterfinal, played at a windswept Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney this afternoon. It was a game that looked in the balance in the first half but Kerry took over completely in the second half, with defenders Brian Maguire, Shane Brosnan and Kevin O'Dwyer outstanding, the Kerry attack inspired by tricky corner forwards Gavin O'Grady and Alan Fitzgerald blew Tipperary out of the water.

Tipperary had the strong wind in the opening half and appeared to hold the upper hand thanks to some inspired play from centre forward Alan Moloney who found the Kerry net in the 8th minute as Tipperary raced 1-4 to 0-1 after ten minutes.

Kerry thanks some sterling defensive work by Brian Maguire and Kevin Dwyer soon got to grips with the rampant visitors and four unanswered points from Alan Fitzgerald (2), Brendan Poff and Garry Sayers saw Kerry fight back and were on level terms by the 23rd minute when corner forward Gavin O'Grady ghosted his way through to plant the ball in the Tipperary net.

Both sides swapped scores as they retired on level terms, on 1-7 apiece at the interval.

However Kerry were far superior in the second period as they moved the ball quickly through the Tipperary defence and with Garry Sayers, Alan Fitzgerald Brendan Poff and JB Spillane all scoring at will, the game was over when Gavin O'Grady's clever cross was fisted to the net by Fitzgerald and the rest of the game was purely academic.

Tipperary's plight was best summed up by the fact that their solitary second half score did not come until two minutes from time, a Gavin Ryan point as Kerry cruised to a double margin victory.


A Fitzgerald 1-4 ( 0-2frees), G O'Grady 1-1( 0-1free), G Sayers 0-4, B Poff 0-2, B Maguire, E Hickson, J Walsh, B Costello, and J Spillane 0-1 each

A Moloney 1-3 ( 0-2 frees), G Ryan 0-3, J Egan and D Butler 0-1 each


S Og O'Ciardubhain, K O'Dwyer, S Brosnan, B Maguire , E Hickson, A Greaney, J Walsh, A Garnett , B Costello, G Sayers, M Murphy, J B Spillane, G O'Grady, B Goff, A Fitzgerald
Subs: M Brennan for A Greaney ( 49), F Courtney for B Costello ( 49), T McGoldrick for A Fitzgerald ( 54), P Kennelly for G O'Grady ( 54), P Kilkenny for J Walsh ( 56)


J English, D O'Sullivan, D Lynch, R Kiely, D Leahy, J O'Callaghan, M O'Sullivan, D Heffernan, E Kendrick, B Hewitt, A Moloney, G Ryan, J Egan, D Butler, A Walsh
Subs: M O'Dwyer for J O'Callaghan ( 24), T Hanley for D Heffernan ( 40), G Quinn for M O'Sullivan ( 50), S O'Connor for D Butler ( 50), A Hannigan for B Hewitt ( 57)

Referee Conor Lane (Cork)