Kerry Juniors complete second leg of treble on Saturday

Munster Junior Football Championship - semi final  By Murt Murphy for 

kerry_group.gifKerry 1-19 Limerick 0-6 Kerry breezed into the Munster Junior Football Championship final when they made quick work of a disappointing Limerick side in the curtain raiser at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday evening.
Kerry were without the luckless JB Spillane and the wandering Adrian Greaney but they were not required for this game as Mike Coakley came into midfield and played a blinder while Bryan Costello reverted to his more familiar role at centre back and Kerry were always in control.

Andrew Garnett ( Did not play SFC with Spa last year in case you are wondering) and Coakley ruled the roost at midfield and with quicksilver forwards like Gavin O'Grady and Alan Fitzgerald and a workaholic of a captain in Michael Murphy, then Limerick were always going to be under the cosh. Fitzgerald with a succession of points, Mikey Brennan and Brendan Poff saw Kerry lead 0-9 to 0-5 at half time.

The second half was all one way traffic with Limerick only managing a solitary point and Kerry's goal came in 37th minute when Gavan O'Grady was fouled inside the area by Limerick's Tim Scanlon. A penalty was awarded and Alan Fitzgerald made no mistake as he continued to punish Limerick and finished with a tally of 1-8 of Kerry's total.

However Cork were equally impressive as they hammered Waterford 3-16 to 1-8 and the Munster Junior Football Championship Final between Cork and Kerry will be decide on Wednesday July 6th at a venue and time TBC.

Kerry: Sean Og O Ciardubháin (Cordal), Kevin O'Dwyer (Waterville), Shane Brosnan (Kerins O'Rahillys), Colin O'Mahony (Ballydonoghue), Eamon Hickson (Annascaul), Brian Costello (John Mitchels), James Walsh (Knocknagoshel), Mike Coakley (Scartaglin), Andrew Garnett (Spa, 0-2), Gary Sayers (Keel, 0-3), Michael Murphy (Gneeveguilla), Michael Brennan (Churchill, 0-1), Gavan O'Grady (Glenbeigh/Glencar, 0-2, 1f), Brendan Poff (St Pats/Blennerville, 0-2), Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory, 1-8, 6f, 1'45') Subs: Paul Kennelly (Ballydonoghue, 0-1) for Brennan, Francis Courtney (Beaufort) for Murphy, Tom McGoldrick (Brosna) for O'Grady, Padraig O'Connor (Gneeveguilla) for Walsh and Kieran O'Connor (Listowel Emmets) for O'Mahony

Limerick: Conor Wallace, Mike Fitzgerald, Aidan O'Sullivan, David Finnerty, Conor Ryan, Paul Martin, Eddie Mulcahy, Edmond Horan, Padraig Horan, Brendan O'Sullivan, John Bourke (0-2), Tim Scanlon, Ray Lynch, Garrett Noonan (0-2, 2f), Tom Collins (0-1) Subs: Mike McMahon for Edmond Horan, Donagh Kelly (0-1) for O'Sullivan, Thomas Butler for Finnerty, David Lambe for Padraig Horan and Brian Shannon for Collins
Referee: Keith O'Brien (Tipperary)

kerry_group.gif We wish to thank KERRY GROUP  for thir generous sponsopship of all Kerry teams

Last Updated (Sunday, 05 June 2011 23:53)