St Brendan's carry too much firepower for Ballyduff

Keane's Killorglin SuperValu Co Minor Hurling League Shield Final
St Brendan's 4-12 Ballyduff 2-8
By Murt Murphy for
St Brendan's, despite shooting thirteen second half wides, carried too much firepower for Ballyduff in this Keane's SuperValu Co Minor Hurling Shield Final played at a wet Austin Stack Park on Monday night.

Ballyduff were severely handicapped by the absence of two of their Kerry minor and club senior players Padraig Boyle (injured) and Eric O'Connor (sick) and never looked like making a game of this final, despite the heroic efforts of their senior panellist Pat Joe Connolly who ploughed a lone furrow at midfield.

This was a fine performance from a young but well coached St Brendan's side who had a some classy forwards, particularly Cian Hussey (0-6), Kieran Fitzgerald (2-1) and wing forward David Griffin (1-3) but their defence was solid as well.

St Brendan's led 3-6 to 1-5 at the interval with goals from Kieran Fitzgerald ( 15th), David Griffin ( 18th) and Daniel Finnegan ( 25th) with David Goulding scoring Ballyduff's first three points and then the outstanding Connolly scoring a late first half goal to his side in the hunt.

Connolly gave his side hope with a fortuitous 36th minute long range delivery that somehow ended up in the St Brendan's net but some classy Cian Hussey points and another Kieran Fitzgerald goal, saw the Ardfert lads ease their way to this Co League final win.

St Brendan's
Kieran Fitzgerald 2-1, Cian Hussey 0-6 (0-2 frees), David Griffin 1-3, Daniel Finnegan 1-1, Kevin Skinner 0-1 '65

Pat Joe Connolly 2-3 (0-1 free), David Goulding 0-3 (0-1 free), Daniel O'Carroll and Padraig Slattery 0-1 each

St Brendan's
Ryan Delaney, David Fitzgerald, Kevin Skinner, Kevin Hannafin, Jack Savage, Gearoid Silles, Darragh Dineen, Fionan Horgan, John Courtney, David Griffin, Padraig Kearney, Gearoid Sheehan, Cian Hussey 0-6 , Kieran Fitzgerald, Daniel Finnegan.
Subs: Michael O'Leary for Darragh Dineen, Killian Woulfe for Kieran Fitzgerald, James Lyne for David Fitzgerald, Conor Thompson for Gearoid Sheehan, Brendan O'Connor for David Griffin

Sean Brown, Ciaran O'Grady, Cathal Kearney, John Regan, Damien Lynch, Kevin Bowler, John Hussey, Pat Joe Connolly, Daniel O'Carroll, David Goulding , Ian Lawlor, Seamus Teague, Padraig Slattery , John Dowling, John Costello

Referee: Patrick Corridan (Ballyheigue)