Doona leads Mid Kerry into the West

Keanes Supervalu County Minor Championship Semi Final
Mid Kerry 2-9 East Kerry 0-11
By Murt Murphy for

The Mid Kerry minor team advanced to the Keanes Killorglin Supervalu sponsored County Minor Championship Final with a four point victory over a fancied East Kerry played in Fitzgerald Stadium on Tuesday Night last.

It was a game that Mid Kerry made an explosive start to and with Padraig Doona giving a superb performance; they caused a mild surprise by mfc_manofmatch_p_wrenn.jpgbeatingfavourites, East Kerry.

However, while it's an attacker who gets the plaudits, credit to the Mid Kerry defence who put the shackles on the East Kerry forwards, with only Jeff O'Donoghue being the only exception.

Mid Kerry got off to a dream start with a well worked movement in the 4th minute yielded a well taken goal from the boot of Padraig Doona. The same player added further points in the 6th and 7th minutes. East Kerry fought back with a free from Jeff O'Donoghue for a foul on Matthew Moynihan and he added a point from play.

In the 10th minute Pa Wrenn kicked a point before Tadgh O'Shea replied for East Kerry. The impressive Pa Wrenn began to trouble the East Kerry defence and he added a further point. In the 17th minute Wrenn was involved in a major move in this game, as he was attacking goalwards, he was fouled and referee Paul Hayes awarded a penalty which Padraig Doona expertly converted to leave Mid Kerry ahead 2-4 to 0-3.

East Kerry took control for the remainder of the half and four points without reply from Jason Aherne, Jeff O'Donoghue (2) and John Friel left the Half Time Score Mid Kerry 2-4, East Kerry 0-7.

The first score of the 2nd half was going to be vital and it went the Mid Kerry way after a well worked movement, Pa Wrenn was at the end of it, to send ball between the posts and extend the Mid Kerry lead. East Kerry began to dominate and points from free in the 3rd and 12th minute from Jeff O'Donoghue left two points between the sides.

East Kerry had a lot of the play but was finding it hard to get through the Mid Kerry defence. In The 16th minute Jeff O'Donoghue left a point between the sides with a free for a foul on Matthew Moynihan.

In the 20th minute an East Kerry attack broke down and Mid Kerry attacked up the field and substitute Liam Burke kicked a point. This score seemed to revitalize the Mid Kerry challenge, and in the 22nd minute Padraig Doona extended their lead. East Kerry replied with a Jeff O'Donoghue free for a foul on John Friel.

Mid Kerry kicked two further points one from a free and the other from play from the boot of Padraig Doona. East Kerry had one last chance but a Jeff O'Donoghue goal chance went wide of the post, as Mid Kerry held on for a famous win.

*Before the game there was a minute silence observed for the late Shane Courtney who was tragically killed over the weekend.

Sponsor Peter Keane presented the Man of the match to Mid Kerry's Pa Wrenn.

Teams Mid Kerry. Stephen Cahillane (Keel), Shane Prendiville (Keel), Nathan Breen (Beaufort), Sean Roche (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Michael J. O'Connor (Beaufort), Gary Nagle (Keel), Shane O'Sullivan (Beaufort), Fergal Hallissey (Beaufort), Ronan Murphy (Beaufort), Danny O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Jason O'Connor (Beaufort), Cormac O'Connor (Beaufort), Devon Flaherty (Milltown-Castlemaine), Pa Wrenn (Milltown-Castlemaine) 0-3, and Padraig Doona (Beaufort) 2-5.
Subs Liam Burke (Milltown-Castlemaine) 0-1 and Tommy Cahill (Glenbeigh/Glencar).

East Kerry. Daniel Cronin (Fossa), David Osterloh (Fossa), Colm Tobin (Spa), Daniel O'Keeffe (Fossa), Anthony Kennedy (Listry), Matthew Moynihan (Spa), Cathal Murphy (Rathmore), Gary O'Sullivan (Listry), Tadgh O'Shea (Fossa) 0-1, Jason Aherne (Spa) 0-1, David O'Donoghue (Glenflesk), Brian Walsh (Fossa), Gavin Nolan (Listry), Jeff O'Donoghue (Glenflesk) 0-8 and John Friel (Rathmore) 0-1.
Subs Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk), Conor Jenkinson (Rathmore) and Gavin Kelly (Glenflesk)

Referee Paul Hayes (Kerins O'Rahillys)

The Keanes SuperValu Killorgin Minor County Championship Final will take place on Thursday 8th September in Austin Stack Park at 6.45pm when Mid Kerry V West Kerry