West Awake after deserved Minor Final Triumph

The Keanes SuperValu Co Minor Football Championship - Final
West Kerry 0-11 Mid Kerry 0-7 
By Murt Murphy for kerrygaa.ie 
Someone once said "It is amazing how much you can accomplish when it doesn't matter who gets the credit." And that may well have been what West Kerry team boss Pol Quinn, drilled into his superb squad of players , as they prepared to do battle with Mid Kerry, in this keenly contested Keanes SuperValu Co Minor Football Championship Final, played before a big crowd at the Austin Stack Park on Thursday night.

Clearly the West Kerry lads had learned that there is no "I" in teamwork, as they produced an impressive team display from keeper and captain Gavin Curran, to corner forward and number 15, Micheal O'Flannura and were always in control of this contest, against a below par Mid Kerry side.

mff_frankking_cup.jpgWest Kerry, laid the foundations for victory by taking the game to their opponents in the opening ten minutes of both halves, jumping 0-3 to 0-0 in front inside the opening ten minutes and then having retired 0-6 to 0-4 in front at half time, they exploded from traps on resumption, kicking four unanswered points in the opening five minutes and Mid Kerry were unable to respond.

West Kerry displayed the better teamwork throughout, with Padraig Ó Sé  controlling matters from centre back, with some excellent blocks and his ability to win the dirty ball and surge forward in a style reminiscent of cousin Tomás, ensured he was without doubt the man of the match.

However, West Kerry were solid right down the middle, with Cathal Ó Lúing excellent at full back with his fielding and reading of the game, Dara Ó Sé  was busy at midfield, James Crean kicked three superb second half points, while Tom Kavanagh showed glimpses of what a truly gifted footballer he is, even if he does sometimes fade out of games.

Nicholas Fitzgerald must also get an honourable mention, as he was pitted against Mid Kerry's destroyer in Chief Padraig Doona from Beaufort, but a combination of a poor supply of ball, and some tenacious defending by Fitzgerald, saw Doona score only a single point!

Mid Kerry possibly were not as fresh as West Kerry, as they have played two games in the past two weeks, but they simply never got going on the night.
Their half back line was their best line, where Danny O'Sullivan, Gary Nagle and Shane O'Sullivan played with spirit and fire in their bellies, but midfield despite the efforts of Pa Wrenn was disappointing.

Kerry minor Ronan Murphy was another player who was below par while the full forward with the notable exception of Devon Flaherty from Cromane were well shackled by the West Kerry defence.

Seven points is a meagre return for sixty minutes of football and when you consider that Flaherty scored four of them, fullback Michael J O'Connor got another and second half substitute got one, it shows that the Mid Kerry attack never functioned.

West Kerry exploded into action with Tom Kavanagh kicking the opening three points, two from play and one from a free but they also kicked three wides the opening ten minutes.

Devon Flaherty got Mid Kerry's opener in the 11th minute after Ronan Murphy was fouled bit it was all West Kerry with Dara
Ó Sé   and Shane Ó Grifín winning primary possession at midfield and Padraig Ó Sé  was winning breaking ball and controlling the tempo of the game.

Micheal Ó Flannura finally found the target in the 14th minute and when Dara Ó Sé   kicked a fine point from play it was West Kerry who led 0-5 to 0-1 after 16 minutes.

mff_man_match.jpgDevon Flaherty was single handily trying to lift Mid Kerry and he kicked their second point in the 20th minute as Mid Kerry rallied in the final ten minutes of the half thanks to the promptings of Danny O'Sullivan, Gary Nagle and Pa Wrenn.

Michael J O'Connor and Flaherty added points but a Dara O'Se free saw West Kerry lead 0-6 to 0-4 at the break but they should have enjoyed a bigger lead considering their dominance.

The game was effectively decided in the opening five minutes of the second half, when West Kerry kicked over four unanswered points, from O'Flannura and a fifty yard special from Tom Kavanagh, followed by two superb points in a minute from James Crean.
Mid Kerry to their credit hit back with points from Padraig Doona and a Flaherty free but two wides and an over hit pass that might well have led to a goal was to cost the losers dearly.

West Kerry then kicked three wides themselves but once Cathal Ó Lúing and Padraig
Ó Sé  caught the game by the scruff of the neck, it was always going to be West Kerry who added a another point from the excellent Crean but some tenacious team defending and some wayward Mid Kerry shooting ensured that West Kerry were going to reclaim the County Minor Championship, they last won three years ago.

Keanes SuperValu Man of the Match: Padraig Ó Sé  (West Kerry)

Jerome Conway the Chairman of The County Commitee presented The Frank King Cup to The winning captain Cavin Curren.

West Kerry
T Kavanagh 0-4 (0-1 free), J Crean 0-3, D O'Se 0-2 (0-1 free), M O'Flannura 0-2 (0-1 free)

Mid Kerry
D Flaherty 0-4 (0-2 frees), M J O'Connor, P Doona and B Corkery 0-1 each

West Kerry

G Curran ( Dingle), N Fitzgerald ( Castlegregory), C O'Luing ( An Ghaeltacht), P O'Conchuir ( Dingle), A Finn ( Annascaul), P O'Se ( An Ghaeltacht), Jack O'Sullivan ( Dingle), S O'Grifin ( An Ghaeltacht), D O'Se ( An Ghaeltacht), K Dowling ( Castlegregory), J Crean ( Annascaul), P O Dubhain ( Dingle) , J Dempsey ( Lispole), T Kavanagh ( Lispole), M O'Flannura ( Dingle)
Subs: D Smith ( Annascaul) for J Dempsey ( 26), M Kavanagh ( Lispole ) for K Dowling ( 42), E O'Conchuir ( An Ghaeltacht) for S O'Grifin ( 54), P Breathnach ( An Ghaeltacht) for M O'Flannura (58) .

Mid Kerry:

Stephen Cahillane (Keel), Shane Prendiville (Keel), Michael J. O'Connor (Beaufort), , Sean Roche (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Danny O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Gary Nagle (Keel), Shane O'Sullivan (Beaufort), Pa Wrenn (Milltown-Castlemaine) Fergal Hallissey (Beaufort), Jason O'Connor (Beaufort), Ronan Murphy (Beaufort), Nathan Breen (Beaufort), Devon Flaherty (Cromane ), Cormac O'Connor (Beaufort), Padraig Doona (Beaufort)
Subs: Billy Corkery (Milltown/Castlemaine) for Jason O'Connor (40) Liam Burke (Milltown-Castlemaine) for Cormac O'Connor (54)

Referee: Paul Hayes (Kerins O'Rahillys)