All too easy for Dromid Pearses as Kerry complete 4-in -a row

AIB Munster Junior Club Football Championship Final
Dromid Pearses (Kerry) 0-16 Kildangan (Tipperary) 1-4 
By Murt Murphy for
For a club the size of Dromid Pearses, for a club only formed in 1976, when a group of enthusiastic people of all ages, gathered in Derrianna's Old National School, and with no money and with no playing field, to form a club, Piarsaigh na Dromoda, to be crowned Munster Junior Club champions just 35 years later, is some achievement and a glorious day for the real people of the GAA, the small rural club.

The county should rejoice because Dromid Pearses have provided us with two greats of the modern era who have helped propel the Kingdom to the top of the football tree.

One is Jack O'Connor, our All-Ireland winning manager who is still plotting yet another success in 2012 and the other is Declan O'Sullivan one of the greatest footballers of this generation or any generation for that matter.

Without small clubs like Dromid Pearses there would no Declan O'Sullivan's and what a proud day for Declan to be playing with some of his schoolmates and with his brother Dominick (another brother Donal missed out due to injury) as they easily accounted for their Tipperary opponents Kildangan, who played well below par in this one sided Munster Final, played at the excellent Con Brosnan Park Moyvane on Sunday.

After the exhilaration of Dromid Pearses extra time semi final win over Kanturk, this final turned out to be an anti climax, because the Kerry side, despite shooting nine wides, had too much football know how for Kildangan, who failed to perform on the day.

In truth, Dromid Pearses won their Munster final in Waterville against Kanturk, and team boss Michael Anthony O'Connell, admitted as much afterwards
"To be honest with you, it was very hard to motivate the players coming into this game. Even afterwards and now in there in the dressing room, they are Munster Champions and there seems to be nothing happening. Kanturk was the big one, and it was difficult to get the lads heads focussed on this one. We kicked five or six bad wides in the first half and if we had put them over, then the game would have been over. I don't know why but Dromid seem to be a second half team and they seem to do it in the second half and that is the way it is"

This Dromid Pearses win, makes it six Kerry winners since 2003, with the South Kerry side completing a Kerry four in row, following in the footsteps of Skellig Rangers, Castlegregory and St Marys, all of whom went on to All-Ireland glory in Croke Park.

Kildangan stayed with Dromid Pearses, who are only in existence since 1976, for the opening ten minutes, but it was obvious that Dromid held on the aces up front as Kildangan struggled to curb the threat of Declan O'Sullivan on the edge of the square and Niall O'Shea, who had moved to the forty.
The Dromid Pearses defence was outstanding with Declan's brother Dominick a commanding figure at full back, but it was the Dromid half back line of Denis Shine O'Sullivan, Kevin O'Shea and Michael Sheehan who excelled and only Fergal Hayes and Joe Gallagher from midfield, posed any threat for the Tipperary side.

Declan O'Sullivan and Darragh Egan exchanged early frees before excellent points from Niall O'Shea and Declan O'Sullivan after sweeping Dromid moves, saw the Kerry side lead 0-3 to 0-2 by the 11th minute.
Kildangan failed to post another score for the rest of the opening half, as Dromid Pearses took over but six wides and only three more points from Ger O'Sullivan, Denis Shine O'Sullivan and a Declan O'Sullivan free, meant that Kildangan were still in the contest at the interval, despite trailing 0-6 to 0-2.

Any faint hope that Kildangan might make a game of it, disappeared, four minutes into the second period, when corner Martin Minehan was red carded for striking Dromid's Kevin O'Shea in full view of the linesman, and a hopeless situation for the Tipperary side, now looked virtually impossible.

However after two points from fullback Dominick O'Sullivan ( after a pass from brother Declan) and a bloodied Kevin O'Shea, Kildangan rallied briefly when slack Dromid marking, allowed Eoin Gleeson to poach a goal and a quick pointed free from Egan, saw the gap being reduced to just two ( 0-8 to 1-3) by the 41st minute.

However with Colm O'Connor, Denis Shine O'Sullivan and Dominick O'Sullivan sensing danger perhaps, Dromid just upped the ante and points from Colm O'Connor, Declan O'Sullivan and John Curran killed off the game as Darragh Egan got Kildangan's solitary last quarter point from a free.
Then, the final ten minutes saw Thomas Curran converting five frees in a row, as Dromid Pearses coasted to a nine point win, in game they never looked like losing, and its off to Birmingham in two weeks for the All-Ireland quarterfinal.
This will be another challenge for the South Kerry side but Michael Anthony O'Connell "But again as I said all along we have a big panel of players, and they have all played their parts at various stages long the way. We will soldier on, the cat is in the sack tonight and that's the main thing" O'Connell quipped.

Dromid Pearses
T Curran 0-5 frees , Declan O'Sullivan 0-4 ( 0-2 frees) , Dominick O'Sullivan, Denis S O'Sullivan, K O'Shea, C O'Connor, G O'Sullivan, N O'Shea and J Curran 0-1 each

E Gleeson 1-0, D Egan 0-3 (0-3 frees), T Gallagher 0-1

A Hogan, P O'Sullivan, Dominick O'Sullivan, C Hallissey , Denis Shine O'Sullivan, K O'Shea, M Sheehan, T Curran, C O'Connor, G O'Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan, A O'Connor, E O'Leary, N O'Shea, J Curran
Subs: M O'Connor for E O'Leary (42), C Farrelly for C Hallissey (43), J M O'Sullivan for G O'Sullivan (54)

M Ryan, E Fogarty, L Kelly, M Minehan, R Gleeson, D Hackett, Eanna Gleeson, F Hayes, J Gallagher, T Gallagher, D Egan, P Kelly, J Loughnane, T Connors, Eoin Gleeson
Subs: E Kelly for J Loughnane (42), J Flannery for Eoin Gleeson (58), P Gallagher for Eanna Gleeson (58), C Hayes for T Gallagher (58) P Lynch for P Kelly (58)

Referee: Richard Moloney (Limerick)