Lucid stars as Ballyheigue lift the Co League Cup

credit_union_ch-for-web.jpgCredit Union County Hurling League Division 1
Ballyheigue 0-12 Abbeydorney 1-3 
By Murt Murphy for
Ballyheigue finished the year with some silverware when they deservedly defeated an out of sorts Abbeydorney side in the Credit Union County Senior Hurling League Final, at a wet and bitterly cold Abbeydorney today. Ballyheigue inspired by fullback Michael Lucid, played the more direct and intelligent hurling in the heavy conditions as Abbeydorney and in particular their Kerry sharpshooter Darragh O'Connell, were completely off colour. 0003.jpg

Two early Ronan Kenny points gave Ballyheigue the advantage but a long clearance from centre back Aidan Healy, ended up in the Ballyheigue net, having deceived their keeper.

However it was to be Abbeydorney's solitary first half score as Ballyheigue driven on by Jason Casey and Diarmuid Walsh, saw the sea-sider's edge 0-5 to 1-0 in front at half time thanks to points from Shane Dunne, Thomas Casey and Mike B Slattery.

Ballyheigue took over in the second half with young seventeen year old Tomas Casey firing over three from play and with Boxer Slattery added three more from placed balls, it was Ballyheigue who claimed yet another Co League title as Abbeydorney's challenge fizzled out.

Kerry Co Board Chairman Jerome Conway in one of last official acts ( he steps down at Monday nights Co Convention ) presented the trophy to a delighted Ballyheigue captain Jason Casey.

T Casey 0-4, M B Slattery 0-4 (0-3 frees, 0-1 '65), R Kenny 0-2, S Dunne 0-1 free, D Walsh 0-1

A Healy 1-1 (0-1 free), D O'Connell 0-1 free, B O'Donovan 0-1

J Healy, D Casey , M Lucid, W J Leen, N Flahive , J Casey, J Griffin, T O'Connor, D Walsh, R Kenny, J Crean, S Colgan, M Slattery, T Casey , S Dunne

Subs: T Casey for M Slattery (59)

G Fealy, J O'Connor, K Dineen, K O ‘Connell, B O'Leary, A Healy, N O'Connell, P J Keane, M Hanafin, D O'Connell, M McCarthy, B O'Donovan, D Ryall, K Hanafin, B Leen

D O'Mahony for B Leen (43), P Dineen for M McCarthy (54)

Referee: F Canty (Causeway)