Mullinahone no match for the Wild Colonial Boys

Munster Intermediate Football Final
Milltown/Castlemaine (Kerry) 1-14 Mullinahone (Tipperary) 0-6
By Murt Murphy for
Kerry champions Milltown/Castlemaine made it a clean sweep of Munster Club titles for the Kingdom in football when they put Mullinahone to the sword after a tardy start at Mallow on Sunday afternoon.
This is a magnificent achievement by Kerry clubs to have won all three majors in Munster with Dr Crokes and Dromid Pearses already champions at Senior and Junior levels and if you consider that Brosna won the Munster Junior B today, it just proves how healthy Kerry club football is and maybe we are getting our competitions right because our clubs over the past seven or eight years have been winning Munster and All-Ireland titles and when speaking to winning managers, they always say that getting out of Kerry is toughest part of the journey to Munster and ultimately All-Ireland glory.

Mullinahone more than matched the favourites in the opening quarter and took the game to them. In fact they had superior pace around the middle of the field especially young Eoin Fennelly as the Kerry side appeared a bit nervous as both sides were level at the end of the opening quarter, on 0-2 apiece. Ian Twiss converted two frees for Milltown/Castlemaine while Adrian Doheny did likewise at the other end.

However that was as good as it got for Mullinahone as Milltown's half forward line of Jerome Flynn, Shane Murphy and Gavin Wrenn opened up in the 2nd quarter, kicking some wonderful long range points while veteran Ian Twiss was also on song kicking two points from play, which saw the Kerry champions lead 0-10 to 0-2 at the interval.

Whatever slim chance Mullinahone had of making a recovery were dashed by the impressive Jerome Flynn when he won a breaking goalmouth ball to slot the ball into the net early in the second half and it was now mission impossible for the Tipperary champions.

Entering the final quarter, Milltown/Castlemaine led by 1-11 to 0-4 and the loser's first point was kicked from play by Niall Curran. In fairness to Mullinahone they never gave up the ghost against far superior opposition but they had three men dismissed late on that made little difference though. . Derek Twiss came off the bench to kick three pointed free for a convincing victory for new Munster Intermediate champions.

Players like Damien Murphy, Joe Daly, Mike Burke, Colm Kerins and Ian Twiss are legends in their parish and lets hope they can now go all the way after Christmas but first there is the small matter of being kings of their own patch so its back to Mid Kerry action on this coming weekend with Glenbeigh/Glencar waiting in the long grass!!!

J Daly J Blennerhassett D Murphy, Kevin McKenna P O'Carroll M Mangan J O'Connor M Burke B Delaney J Flynn 1-2 S Murphy 0-1 G Wrenn 0-3 C Moriarty C Kerins I Twiss 0-5 (2f) Subs D Kelliher for M Mangan P Wrenn for P O'Carroll D Twiss 0-3f for G Wrenn N Wrenn for J O'Connor J Hayes for S Murphy.

M Lonergan K Vaughan M Costello Br Tracey K Walzer N Curran 0-1 J Connolly, A Curran E Fennelly E O'Meara E Kelly S Curran P Kelly 0-3f A J Curran A Doheny 0-2f
Subs N Cronin for E O'Meara P O'Shea for E Fennelly G Cronin for A Doheny.
Referee: Maurice Condon (Waterford.)