Crokes cruise to Senior Club Championship title

Castleisland Co-op Mart Senior Club Championship Final
Dr Crokes 0-14 Rathmore 0-6
By Murt Murphy for
MUNSTER SFC kingpins Dr Crokes were crowned Kerry senior club football champions after victory over defending champions Rathmore at Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney last  night.

senior_club2.jpgInspired by man-of-the-match Jamie Doolan and Kerry captain Colm Cooper , who both scored 0-4, Dr Crokes had too much class, guile and scoring power for a Rathmore side that just managed one point from play in the entire game; a 47th minute effort from wing-back Conor O'Sullivan.

This was impressive by Dr Crokes who lost a big lead to the same opponents in last years semi final but there was to be no slipups this time around as Crokes always had the measure of thier deadly East Kerry rivals.

(Photo shows man of match trophy presented by Jimmy Roche from sponsor Castleisland Mart to Jamie Doolan)

Outside of the usual suspects, it appears that the return of Michael Moloney to fullback has steadied the Crokes ship at the back while up front two of Crokes younger brigade Chris Bardy and Jamie Doolan are starting to blossom, which is proably not good news for the rest of the teams in League and Championship.

Leading 0-7 to 0-3 at half-time, with Cooper (0-3) and Doolan (0-2) spearheading the Crokes attack, the game looked over when Cooper and Brian Looney added early second-half scores but after a Donal O'Sullivan free narrowed the gap, Rathmore passed up on a massive chance when John Buckley's penalty was saved.

Rathmore did come within three points of Crokes, 0-9 to 0-6, but the Killarney club finished strongly as Doolan and Chris Brady grabbed a brace apiece, while Daithi Casey also added a free for Crokes.

Dr Crokes who are now Kerry county champions, Kerry club champions, Munster champions, and East Kerry champions.
Once again Dr Crokes look the team the team to beat in the Garveys SuperValu SFC, as they bid for a three in-a-row later in the summer.

Dr Crokes: J Doolan, C Cooper (2f) 0-4 each, C Brady, D Casey (2f) 0-2 each, B Looney, J Buckley 0-1 each.
Rathmore: D O'Sullivan (3f, 1 45) 0-4, M O'Riordan (f), C O'Sullivan 0-1 each.

(Photo shows Kieran O'Leary Captain,Patrick O'Sullivan, Chairman of Kerry County Commitee,  man of match Jamie Doolan , Jimmy Roche from sponsor Castleisland Mart and TJ O'Sullivan proud Dr. Crokes supporter. )