Keanes Supervalu Killorglin MFL Div 4 Final

Keanes Supervalu Killorglin Minor League Final Division 4
Kenmare2-12 Fossa 1-7
by Pat O'Brien East Kerry PRO 
Crohane mountain smiled down on a picturesque Glenflesk on Saturday evening where open football, good foot passing and long deliveries from defence and midfield were features of this entertaining County Minor League Division 4 Final.
A brilliant goal by wing back and man of the match Stanley Harrington epitomised the drive, dash and determination of a very powerful Kenmare team when in the fifth minute he ploughed his way past three tackles to place the ball beyond the fingertips of Mossy Prendiville in the Fossa goal. Fossa never led after that score but nevertheless they gave the more powerful Kenmare team a terrific challenge before running out of steam in the final twenty minutes.

The Gallant Fossa team
18.jpgFossa opened the scoring with a point from full forward Tadgh O'Shea. Kenmare's wing back Brian Clifford penetrated deep into Fossa territory to set up Dean Cassidy for the equaliser. And then we had that wonderful goal from Harringon to put Kenmare 3 points clear. They opened a six point gap with points from Reece Dillane, full forward Michael Godfrey and from a Dan Cassidy free. Fossa's Tadgh O'Shea and Kenmare's Shane O'Sullivan swapped points and it was 1-5 to 0-2 in Kenmares favour after twenty minutes. Fossa moved Tadgh O'Shea to midfield, swapping places with brother Mikey. His first possession saw him pump the ball forward to Padraig Devane who spotted Paudie Clifford behind the Kenmare defence. It was an easy task for Clifford - one of Fossa's stand out players - to put the ball past Martin McCarthy in the Kenmare goal and Fossa was right back in the ball game - 1-5 to 1-3 approaching the short whistle. Points from Dean Cassidy (free) and Fionan O'Sullivan saw Kenmare enjoy a half time lead of 4 points - 1-7 to 1-3.

Fossa won the restart ball and pumped it high to Tadgh O'Shea - now back at full forward. O'Shea rounded full back John 20.jpgHayes and it took a top class save from Martin McCarthy to keep O'Sheas shot from rattling the net. It was a most important save at a time when Fossa was in top gear. Two well worked points from Fossa O'Shea and centre forward Dara Rice narrowed the gap to 2 points - 1-7 to 1-5 in Kenmare's favour. Fossa was edging closer but a second killer goal from Kenmare's outstanding midfielder Colm Dan O'Sullivan knocked the stuffing out of Fossa. Dean Cassidy and Tadgh O'Shea swapped points as Kenmare took control in most areas of the field for the final twenty minutes. The games top scorer Tadgh O'Shea had a consolation pointed free as Kenmare finished stronger with points from Fionan O'Sullivan, Reece Dillane, Patrick O'Shea and Aiden Quinlan. Final score Kenmare 2-12 Fossa 1-7.

21.jpgThe game featured some exceptional performances from Kenmare's midfielders Colm O'Sullivan and David Hallisey, wing back and captain Brian Clifford, centre forward Shane O'Sullivan and from Fossa's Tadgh O'Shea and Paudie Clifford but it was Kenmare's dashing wing back Stanley Harrington who took the Keane Supervalu man of the match award presented by Mickey Ned O'Sullivan.   Mickey Ned O'Sullivan presenting Div 4  Shield to Kenmare Captain Brian Clifford

Kenmare: Martin McCarthy, Ronan Lucey, John Hayes, David Crowley, Brian Clifford, Aiden Quinlan(0-1), Stanley Harrington(1-0), Colm O'Sullivan (1-0), David Hallisey, Reece Dillane(0-2), Shane O'Sullivan (0-1 free) Dean Cassidy (0-4, 0-2 frees), Fionan O'Sullivan(0-2), Michael Godfrey (0-1) Finbarr Quill, Subs: Patrick O'Shea (0-1),
Fossa: Mossy Prendiville, Daniel Coffey, Daniel O'Keeffe, Daniel Griffin, Colm Walsh, Shane Hennigan, Matthew Rennie, Mikey O'Shea, David Osterloh, Paudie Clifford (1-0), Dara Rice (0-1), Michael O'Keeffe, Padraig Devane, Tadgh O'Shea (0-6, 0-2 frees), Brendan Curran. Subs: Daniel O'Connell, Andrew Cronin.

23.jpg Stanley Harrington The Keanes SuperValu Killorglin Man of Match with Kerry Minor trainer Mickey Ned O'Sullivan

Kenmare The Division 4 Keanes SuperValu Killorglin County Minor League Champions  2012