Coaching & Games News

Tralee, Castleisland & St. Brendans Board;
Last week saw the start of our under 10 Go Games blitz in all divisions. In Tralee, both Kerins O Rahillys and Austin Stacks have already hosted hugely successful nights, with Na Gaeil due to host this evening Friday 18th May. Ballymac hosted a great night for the under 10s for all the Castleisland clubs last week, and this week it is the turn of Currow. St. Pats hosted last Sunday morning for the St. Brendan's Board clubs. Ardfert are due to host their blitz this week. A big thank you, to all the clubs, for the effort of hosting and travelling. These blitzes are growing in popularity each year and they are a great credit to all the clubs involved. Last week, Micheál Quirke visited the Castleisland Desmonds for the third visit of their Nursery Programme. He also carried out coaching sessions with Churchill under 14's, and St. Pats under 14's/16's. This week Micheál will visit Ardfert & Ballyheigue.
North Kerry
LISTOWEL (black) (host)
LISTOWEL (yellow)
Please check with host club for exact date time of blitz.
Mid Kerry
Last Thursday night saw coaches from Keel's u-6s go through a fun and practical coaching session with Martin Horgan, 17 players were in attendance. Tonight (Wednesday) Martin Horgan will visit the Cromane u-14s at 7pm. The second phase of Mid-Kerry's Goalkeeping workshop for all goal keepers at u-14/16 & minor takes place in Cloon Pitch this Saturday at 11am.
South Kerry:
On yesterday evening Waterville completed their fourth night under the Munster Child Club Development Programme with Martin Horgan.
This Saturday with Martin Horgan , the second underage coaching workshop at u-6/8's will take place, details have been sent to all club coaching contacts.

East Kerry/Kenmare:
On Thursday May 10th the Spa GAA club were delighted to welcome young footballers from all the schools in the Killarney parish to our clubhouse for the 2nd staging of our schools blitz. This blitz catered for children in the 4th classes of the local school and was a mixed team blitz for both boys and girls. It was run under the Go-Game format with players from each school being mixed up and playing with their peers from other schools in the locality. The emphasis was on fun and was viewed as an opportunity to display their skills, rather than on the competitive aspect of Gaelic football and this greatly enhanced the enjoyment for participants and spectators alike. No score lines were recorded and there was no sense of an overall winner, rather that each team played each other once, with certificates awarded to each player on the day to signify their participation. Once again, the beaming faces as the children made their way home showed the initiative proved hugely successful as many children who may not ordinarily get a chance to play football in a school team environment got the opportunity to showcase their own unique talents. Many thanks to all the schools involved, and especially to all the teachers present who were more than willing to take charge of a team on
the day ensuring the smooth progress of events throughout the day. The club is especially indebted to Vince Cooper GDA for East Kerry Primary Schools for his invaluable advice and all his help in facilitating this event and in particular for providing the referees for the day. Special mention must be made to these young referees whose contribution cannot be overstated in terms of the air of professionalism they brought to the day, whilst remaining a friendly and fair judge of proceedings in the middle of the field.

Boys County Skills Final 2012
Team Results;
1st - Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn (Diarmuid O Conchúir, Donagh Mac Iomhargáin, Dylan OCathasaigh)
2nd - Scoil Mhaolchaedair (Liam O Bambaire, Nikolai O Conochuir, Breanann Bní)
3rd - Scoil Iognaigris An Daingean (Eoin OBrosnachan, Tomás O Dubhain, Niall O'Geibheanaigh)
Individual Results;
1st - David Murphy (St. Michaels, Ennis, Sneem)
2nd - Niall O Geibhenaigh (Scoil Iognaigris AnDaingean)
3rd - Rian O Sullivan (Derryquay)
3rd - Dylan O Cathasaigh (Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn)

Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn (Diarmuid O Conchúir, Donagh Mac Iomhargáin, Dylan OCathasaigh)

Scoil Mhaolchaedair

Scoil Iognaigris An Daingean (Eoin OBrosnachan, Tomás O Dubhain, Niall O'Geibheanaigh)

St. Michaels Ennis, Sneem (David Murphy)

Lissivigeen (Oisin O' Shea)

Rathmore (Darragh Desmond)

Scoil Bhríde, Loreto (Sean Courtney, Lorcán McMonagle, Darren Mulcahy)

Ath Na mBlath (Conor Mc Carthy, Cormac O Connor, Ivor Moynihan)

Kilgobnet (Padraig Cronin, Johnathan Kissane,Kealan Cahill)

Barraduff (Brian Friel, Jamie O'Shea, Gearoid O' Leary)

Firies (Jack O'Driscoll, Jake Flynn, DiarmuidO'Mahoney)

Kilgarvan (Richard O'Sullivan, David Casey, Seamus Healy)

Ballybunion (Aidan Long, Tommy O'Neill,Callum Mc Sweeney)

Aghatubrid (Mauric Fitzgerald, Bryan Corcoran, Blaine McCarthy)

Portmagee (Padraic O Connell)

Knockaderry (Liam Brosnan)

Nohoval (Colin McDaid)

Scartaglen (Shay Walsh)

Roheshill (Adrian O Connor)

Tousist (Tadgh O Siochru)

Ballyduff (Jordan O Rourke)

Derryquay (Rian O'Sullivan)