Keanes SuperValu Killorglin –Minor Football League Division 3A Final

Stirring final quarter comeback sees Na Gaeil/Castlegregory snatch victory

Na Gaeil/Castlegregory 1-10 Renard/St Mary's 1-8
By Murt Murphy
A thrilling and nerve wracking finish, saw Na Gaeil/Castlegregory stage a dramatic final quarter comeback, to deny Renard/St Marys in this keenly contested Keanes SuperValu Killorglin County Minor Football League Division 3A Final played at the JP O'Sullivan Park , Killorglin on Saturday afternoon.
It was a game that the South Kerry side appeared to have in the bag midway through the second half, as they led Na Gaeil/Castlegregory by five points ( 1-8 to 0-6) with Denis Daly, Kevin Curran and the workaholic that was Conor O'Shea was popping up everywhere and things looked good for Renard/St Marys.
However what occurred after Kerry minor Darragh Carmody converted a 46th minute penalty for Na Gaeil/Castlegregory changed the course of this confidence as South Kerry lads faded with the exception of Conor O'Shea and Na Gaeil/Castlegregory went for the jugular and snatched victory from the jaws of defeat.
The Tralee/ West Kerry combination can thank a number of players for this win, players who put in big performances to secure this magnificent victory. At the back Kerry minor hurling star Brendan O'Leary had a mighty game at fullback and some of his interceptions in the first half and in the third when his side were under the cosh, were crucial in the win. He is strong and brave and if Brendan could concentrate on football, then who knows how high he would climb.
Kerry minor Jack Barry and David Moynihan had to battle hard at midfield against Renard/St Mary's pairing of Kerry minor Denis Daly and Kevin Curran but they stuck with it and assumed complete control in the final fifteen minutes, with Moynihan showing admirable battling qualities.
Up front, Darragh Carmody was the man who saw his side home with a superb game breaking second half display once he was placed on the edge of the square. He beat his marker to every ball in the second period and as well as top scoring with 1-4, he had a hand on most things good that happened up front for Na Gaeil/ Castlegregory. He got great assistance from Kealan Dowling who had a big game and kicked two superb late points while Jordan Quirke did a lot of good work on the left wing.
Renard/St Marys will be disappointed at having left this game slip as they looked to be in control. Brian O'Shea and Conor O'Leary were excellent at the back while Denis Daly was the star at midfield, though he will be disappointed with his last ten minutes.
Conor O'Shea was their main man at wing forward and he must be close to a Kerry minor call up as he plays the game similar to senior wing forward Paul Galvin and that is a high accolade indeed.
In fact the Renard/St Mary's half forward was their best line but they shot ten wides and another half dozen balls landed into the keeper's hands and that was to cost them the game.
Kealan Dowling gave Na Gaeil/Castlegregory with a first minute point but they struggled to get any score during the next twenty minutes as they turned the ball over with alarming regularity, and Renard/St Marys were running at the Tralee sides defence and causing them major problems.
Renard/St Marys thanks to the promptings of Conor O'Shea and Denis Daly had moved 0-3 to 0-1 in front by the 20th minute but tellingly they had also shot seven bad wides.
Cormac O'Connor, Daly and O'Shea (free) had the South Kerry side's points but Na Gaeil/ Castlegregory were soon on level terms thanks to points from Jack Barry and Senan Ross. Kevin Curran restored the South Kerry lads lead in 24th minute but Darran Burns levelled two minutes later.
Then came a crucial score in the 27th minute when a sweeping move saw Conor O'Shea pick up the ball in his own half, but a quick transfer saw Denis Daly and Kevin Curran carve open the Na Gaeil defence and the final ball saw David O'Sullivan rattle the net.
Carmody, got one back for Na Gaeil/Castlegregory before half time but Renard/St Marys led 1-4 to 0-5 at the interval.

Na Gaeil missed two great chances of goals in the opening ten minutes of the second period and only had a Darragh Carmody point to show for their efforts. Denis Daly was now thundering into the game and he added three points in the third quarter (0-2 frees) and Aidan O'Connor added another as Renard/St Marys moved 1-8 to 0-6 clear.
However the South Kerry outfit were not to score again as Na Gaeil/Castlegregory rallied and when Darragh Carmody sent Kealan Dowling, he was pulled down and excellent referee Derek Sheehan pointed to the spot.
Darragh Carmody sent the keeper the wrong away and it was game on the Barry/ Carmody axis started to produce the scores. In fact Carmody showed why he started for the Kerry minors against Clare , as his pace and ability to get out in front of his marker and win primary possession turned this game, but credit too to Jack Barry for the quality of ball coming in.
Carmody narrowed the gap to a point before he set Kealan Dowling up for a 56th minute equalizer. Dowling then landed a massive lead point and then Darragh Carmody made sure with s gem from the touchline.
Renard/St Marys simply had no answer and it was Gavin Peevers who accepted the Shield from Peter Twiss while Peter Keane presented the Man of the Match trophy to Darragh Carmody (Na Gaeil/ Castlegregory).

Na Gaeil/ Castlegregory
D Carmody 1-4 (1-0 penalty), K Dowling 0-3 (0-1 free), S Ross, J Barry and D Burns 0-1 each

Renard/St Marys
D Daly 0-4 ( 0-2 frees), D O'Sullivan 1-0, C O'Shea 0-1 free, K Curran, A Cournane and A O'Connor 0-1 each

Na Gaeil/ Castlegregory
Timmy Culloty, Dara Sheehy, Brendan O'Leary, Gavin Peevers, Senan Ross, Padraig Rohan, Mark Walsh, Jack Barry, David Moynihan, Andrew Barry, Darragh Carmody, Jordan Quirke, Darragh O'Connor, Kealan Dowling, Darren Burns

Subs: Ciaran O'Rourke for D O'Connor, Liam Herlihy for S Ross

Renard/St Marys
Ronan McCarthy, Robert O'Shea, Patrick Cournane, Eoin McCrohan, Brian Sugrue, Conor O'Leary, Mark O'Shea, Denis Daly, Kevin Curran, Conor O'Shea, Mark Sugrue, Robert Wharton, Anthony Cournane, David O'Sullivan, Aidan O'Connor

Referee: Derek Sheehan (Templenoe)